Sandifer snaps off the 2nd Annual Dallas 9-Ball Open

Daniel Herring, Juan Parra, Greg Sandifer, Tim Larson

Greg Sandifer of North Richland Hills, Texas, captured the second annual, Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour, Dallas Open 9-Ball Event, and his first-ever, Tour win, dominating Daniel Herring, in the true, double elimination final.

On October 28th-29th, The Tour ended its 2018 season in a blaze of glory, playing host to some of the best pool talent Texas has to offer, at CK Billiards in Dallas. Once again, CK’s added a generous $1,000 to the prize fund, while manager Jamie Charbboneau and staff, provided first-rate hospitality and accommodations, in a no-smoking environment.

On Saturday, Greg Sandifer took the bull by the horns, defeating Tim Larson, 6-4, Brian Green, 6-2, and Matt Terry, 6-2, while Jay Brotherton made his way to the winners’ side final four, with wins over Roberto Franco, 6-0, and Jason Gladden, 6-3. Daniel Herring made his way, with wins over Gerardo Perez, 6-1, and Pete Stovall, 6-5, while Dallas favorite, T.J. Davis ousted Jamie Charbonneau, 6-2, Juan Parra, 6-0. On the one loss side, Terry eliminated Spiegel, and Larson dusted off Gladden. Rounding out the final 8, Parra sent Green packing, and Stovall took out Franco, by the same score, 6-4. On the east side, it was Brotherton over Sandifer, 6-4, and Herring who topped Davis, 6-3. Sandifer went on to overwhelm Davis for the hot seat, 6-3. On the east side, after four match wins, Larson overcame Terry, 6-3, and Parra ended Stovall. Larson won his fifth match, ousting T.J. Davis, 6-3, while Parra stopped Brotherton. Larson made Parra his sixth victim, 6-1, but fell to Herring, 6-1.  In the final, Sandifer bested Herring, going undefeated to win his first, Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour title.

Ernesto Bayaua

The Tour would like to congratulate its 2018 award winners. For the second year in a row, Ernesto Bayaua of Houston, Texas, earns “Open Division Tour Champion”, and Chad Reece of Lufkin, Texas, “Amateur Division Tour Champion”. Chuck Adams takes “Most Improved Player” in the open division, Steve Williams “Most Improved Player”, in the amateur division. Congratulations on these well-deserved honors.

The Tour would like to extend its deepest gratitude to all the players who competed in the 2018 Tour Season, its title sponsor Poison by Predator Cues, and sponsors Cyclop Pool Balls, APA of North Harris County,, and The Tour would also like to recognize and thank its 2018 host rooms, Skinny Bob’s Billiards (Round Rock), Fat Rack’s Sports Bar and Billiards (San Antonio), CK Billiards (Dallas), Bogies (Houston), and Bogies West (Houston).

Get ready to compete at some brand new venues in 2019! The Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour season opener will be held on January 5th-6th, 2019, at Slick Willies Family Pool Hall, located at 5913 Westheimer Rd., Houston, Texas, 77057.  This will be a side-by-side with the Women’s Gulf Coast Tour. This is Slick’s “flagship” store, and is located in Houston’s prominent Galleria Area. The complete 2019 Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour schedule will be published at


Total Payout: $2,465




1st Greg Sandifer $630/$462

2nd Daniel Herring $430/$198

3rd Tim Larson $300

4th Juan Parra $185

5th-6th Jay Brotherton, T.J. Davis $85 ea

7th -8th Pete Stovall, Matt Terry $45 ea