Rivas and Nanashee Prevail at Poison Lone Star Tour Finale

Sharp, Nanashee, Rojas, Jethwa, Bayaua, Turner, Contreras, Rivas

Sergio Rivas and Mark Nanashee racked up first-time wins at the 2021 Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour, finale event, held October 9th-10th, at Big Tyme Billiards in Spring, Texas. Rivas stormed through the one-loss side in the 64-player, open 9-ball division, defeating Ernesto Bayaua in the finals, 6-3, 5-1. In the 64-player, amateur 9-ball division, Pennsylvania’s Mark Nanashee came from behind, besting Austin’s Noah Contreras in the finals, 5-1, 4-1.

Weaver, Nanashee, Rojas, Lenz, Felder, Contreras, Ramoz, Williams

Tour title sponsor, Poison by Predator Cues, and sponsors Predator Cues, APA of North Harris County, Alamo Billiards, Outsville Billiards, Team StraightPool Eye, Southern Streaming, and flagship host venue, Big Tyme Billiards, facilitated another phenomenal event for players across Texas, and beyond. There were 77 competitors, with an additional 38 women who participated in the Gulf Coast Tour Women’s Final 9-ball event. The event garnered 115 players, and paid out nearly $11,000 in prize money.  The tournament was played on twenty-three Diamond Bar Tables, with brand new Predator Arcos II Pool Balls, and Accu-Racks by Outsville Billiards.

The Tour would like to thank Big Tyme Billiards, Slick Willies Family Pool Hall, Barney’s Billiard Saloon, and R House Bar and Grille, for hosting the 2021 Tour Season, and our longstanding sponsors who support the Tours year after year.

In the open 9-ball division, Ernesto Bayaua made his way with wins over Steve Williams, 6-5, Derek Hudson, 6-0, Sakura Matsamura, 6-0, and Sergio Rivas, 6-5. Stephen Turner defeated Jose Hernandez, Joel Acevedo, 6-0, Mark Nanashee, 6-5, and Eric Gauthier, 6-5. Austin’s Noah Contreras came on strong, besting Danny Bennett, John Braud, 6-2, Kenney Nguyen, 6-2, and Joe Dee, 6-3. Rounding out the winners’ side, final four, Andy Jethwa ousted Roy Alonzo, Sonny Mejia, 6-3, Eric Cantrell, 6-2, and Blaine Barcus, 6-3. On the west side, in the final sixteen, Nanashee, ended Chris Ramos, 5-1, and Dee, 5-2, while Billy Sharp took out Matsamura, 5-2, and Barcus, 5-2. Ray Porter knocked out Cantrell, 5-2, but fell to Rivas, 5-3, while Victor “Champion” Rojas sent home Derek Fontenot, 5-2, and Gauthier, 5-3. Back on the east side, Bayaua denied Turner and Jethwa derailed Contreras, by the same score, 6-4. In the hot seat match, Bayaua eased past Jethwa, 6-5. On the one-loss side, Nanashee overpowered Sharp, 5-2, but fell to Turner, 5-3. Rivas ran over Rojas, 5-1, and shut out Contreras, 5-0. Rivas made quick work of Turner, 5-2, and overwhelmed Jethwa, 5-0, to meet Bayaua in the finals. In the first set, Bayaua failed to capitalize on his break, and Rivas took full advantage. Rivas was breaking flawlessly, and with ease, took the first set, 6-3. In overtime, it was more bad news for Bayaua, and Rivas closed the second set, 5-1, to capture his first, Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour title.

In the amateur 9-ball division, newcomer Noah Contreras was on fire, capturing wins over Kenney Nguyen, 5-2, Ky Lowe, 5-0, Paul Bramwell, 5-4, and Philip Broussard, 5-2. Victor Rojas overwhelmed Joel Acevedo, 5-1, George Myer, Jr., 5-2, Mitch Ivey, 5-0, and Steve Lenz, 5-1. Mark Nanashee ousted Stephen Turner, 5-4, Tracy Lacy, 5-1, Eric Gauthier, 5-2, and Steve Williams, 5-4. Rounding out the winners’ side, final four, Alabama’s Jake Weaver bested Chris Sigman, Mark Cardenas, 5-2, Chuck Adams, 5-1, and Chris Ramoz, 5-2. On the west side, in the final sixteen, Nguyen upset Javier Alienes, 4-1, but fell to Williams, 4-3. Matsamura dusted off Bramwell, 4-0, but was eliminated in turn by Ramoz, 4-1. Felder ended Turner, 4-3, and Broussard, 4-1, while Gauthier overwhelmed Cantrell, 4-1, but was stopped by Lenz, 4-2. Back on the east side, Contreras took care of Rojas, 5-3, while Nanashee dealt Weaver a loss, 5-3. In the hot seat match, Contreras took charge, sending Nanashee to the west side, 5-3. Fighting to stay alive on the west side, Ramoz sent Williams packing, 4-3, but lost to Rojas, 4-2. Lenz eased by Felder, 4-3, and shut out Weaver, 4-0. Rojas dealt Lenz a final blow, 4-0, but was halted by Nanashee, 4-2. In the final match, Contreras felt the heat, as Nanashee took charge of the first set, closing it out, 5-1. In the second set, Nanashee finished off Contreras, 4-1, to claim his first Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour title.

The Tour would like to recognize and congratulate its 2021 annual Tour award recipients. After capturing his first event this year, and for his impressive climb to the number one position in the open division rankings, local phenom J.C. Torres not only earns 2021 “Most Improved” player, but also takes home the 2021 Open Division, Tour Champion title.

Following numerous, top finishes on Tour, and even missing one event this season, Steve Lenz fought hard to earn his coveted, 2021 Amateur Division, Tour Champion title.

The Tour would like to welcome new players Noah Contreras and Mark Nanashee, along with players George Arbia, George Myer, Jr., Derrek Reppenhagen, Ryan Aquino, Andrea Robinson, and Leann Reppenhagen, who flew in from Las Vegas to compete in the events!

The 2022 Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour Schedule will be posted soon at www.LoneStarBilliardsTour.com.

Amateur Division – Total $4,085

1st Mark Nanashee $525/$925

2nd Noah Contreras $325/$600

3rd Victor Rojas $200/$380

4th Steve Lenz $150/$200

5th-6th Chris Ramoz, Jake Weaver $90/$100

7th-8th Steve Williams, Will Felder, $70 ea.

9th-12th Kenney Nguyen, Sakura Matsamura, Eric Gauthier, Philipp Broussard $40 ea.

13th-16th Javier Alienes, Paul Bramwell, Stephen Turner, Eric Cantrell $25 ea.

Open Division – Total $5,490

1st Sergio Rivas $560/$1,210

2nd Ernesto Bayaua $380/$900

3rd Andy Jethwa $240/$600

4th Stephen Turner $180/$380

5th-6th Mark Nanashee, Noah Contreras $80/$150 ea.

7th-8th Billy Sharp, Victor Rojas $50 ea.

9th-12th Eric Gauthier, Blaine Barcus, Joe Dee, Ray Porter $40 ea.

13th-16th Sakura Matsamura, Eric Cantrell, Derek Fontenot, Chris Ramoz $35 ea.