Perez and Sanchez Take San Antonio on Poison Lone Star Tour

Patrick Perez stole the spotlight, and his first, amateur 9-ball division title, at the second stop on the Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour, held at Fast Eddie’s on Embassy, in San Antonio, Texas. Perez went undefeated in a field of 55 players, ousting Muhammad Alshammari in the finals, 7-4. Rudy Sanchez clenched the 50-player, open 9-ball division, defeating Rick “The Hammer” Moreno in overtime, 6-2, 5-2.

Patrick Perez

On February 3rd-4th, 2024, title sponsor Poison by Predator Cues, sponsors Predator Cues, Alamo Billiards, Outsville Billiards, and Team Straight Pool Eye, facilitated another successful event for players across Texas. There were over 70 competitors, including 15 Gulf Coast Tour women, who participated in the second event of the Tour season, held at the popular Fast Eddie’s on Embassy, in San Antonio. The room hosted a first-rate event, adding a generous $1,000 to the prize fund, and providing 8’ tables for tournament play in a non-smoking environment. Predator provided Predator Arcos II ball sets for each table, while Outsville Billiards supplied Accu-Racks for discussion-free racking.

Pat Perez, Muhammad Alshammari

In the amateur 9-ball division, winners’ side final eight, Patrick Perez defeated Monwell Chassion, 5-4, while Juan Longoria bested Tim Cox, 5-2. David Leal ousted Tony Torres, 5-2, and Muhammad Alshammari sent Rudy Sanchez west, 5-1. In the next round, it was Perez over Longoria, 5-3, and Alshammari dusting off Leal, 5-1. In the hot seat, Perez squeezed by Alshammari, 5-4. On the west side, and in the final eight, Castillo eliminated Sanchez, 4-1, and Longoria, 4-2, while Moreno ended Ensley, 4-1, and Leal, 4-3. Castillo was on a roll, winning five consecutive matches, making Moreno his sixth victim, 4-3. Castillo’s run came to a close at the hands of Alshammari, 4-2. Alshammari faced off with Perez, a second time, searching for redemption. While both players were vying for their first victory, it was Perez who finished first, 7-4, and undefeated, to secure his first-ever Tour victory!

In the open 9-ball division, winners’ side final eight, Tim Cox shutout Luis Rangel, 6-0, while Rudy Sanchez denied Monwell Chassion, 6-4. David Leal bested Rick Moreno, 6-4, and Tour veteran, Andy Jethwa, slid past Ernie Sanchez, 6-5. In the next round, Sanchez detoured Cox, 6-2, and Jethwa steamrolled Leal, 6-1. Hot seat action witnessed Sanchez overwhelm Jethwa, 6-2. On the west side, and in the final eight, Moreno ended E. Sanchez, 5-3, and Cox, 5-1. Chassion denied Rangel, 5-1, but fell to Leal, 5-2. Moreno took care of Leal, 5-4, then Jethwa, 5-1, to meet Sanchez in the final. Coming off a five-match streak, Moreno as ready for more. In the first set of the true, double elimination final, Sanchez fell to Moreno, 6-2. In overtime, Sanchez regrouped and secured the second set, 5-2. Congratulations to Rudy Sanchez on a well-deserved win.

Rick Moreno, Rudy Sanchez

Finally, the Tour would like to congratulate Rick Castillo and Muhammad Alshammari on their highest finishes in a Tour event.

Rick Castillo

Next year will mark the Poison Lone Star Billiards Tour’s 15th Anniversary. The Tour would like to extend its deepest appreciation to all the players, sponsors, and venues, who have helped make this possible.

Amateur Payouts – $1,600

1st Patrick Perez $560

2nd Muhammad Alshammari $350

3rd Rick Castillo $220

4th Rick Moreno $120

5th-6th David Leal, Juan Longoria $75 ea

7th-8th Rudy Sanchez, Destrey Ensley $50 ea

9th-12th Tim Cox, Tony Torres, Monwell Chassion, Mickey Woinicki $25 ea

Open Payouts – $1,750

1st Rudy Sanchez $585

2nd Rick Moreno $360

3rd Andy Jethwa $230

4th David Leal $130

5th-6th Tim Cox, Luis Rangel $80

7th-8th Ernie Sanchez, Monwell Chassion $60 ea

9th-12th Tony Torres, Destry Ensley, Mohamad Alshammari, Rick Castillo $35 ea